Tuesday, October 15, 2013


The football history in Indonesia goes far back to the colonial era. In the year 1930 the Indonesian Football league was established. The football league was established during the Dutch colonial time. The league is supervised by Indonesia Football association (PSSI). This was actually 15 years before the independence of Indonesia. After 7 years since its establishment, PSSI affiliated to FIFA.  9 years later PSSI joined the Asian Football Federation.

The current chairman of PSSI is called Djohar Arifin Hussein.
Indonesia have different national teams categories accordin to the age of players. There exist the Indonesia U-21, U-19, U-23 and U-16. In that way, there is a strong base for the future of Indonesian senior team.
In 2012 Indonesia U-21 team participated in the Hassanal Bolkiah cup in Brunei.

One of the things which are really interesting is to find that 3 players used toplay their professional football outside Indonesia. These players are Ryan Yusuf who plays for Lille in France, Dow Alfawirsa who plays for Giresunspor in Turkey and Farri Agri who plays for Al Khor in Qatar. The current squad which was organized to play did not include any single player out of the Indonesia domestic league.


The football association of Indonesia is made up of many provincial associations. Some of these are such as Aceh Association (AA) and Central Java Association (AJTG). Each of these association are responsible for the direct day to day management of football within the provinces. The ultimately report to the main association which is the (PPSI)